These awards highlight the range of talent and cutting-edge advances in technology involved in the global aquaculture sector. An impressive range of companies, research organisations and individuals from around the world have made the shortlists for the 2020 Aquaculture Awards.

Winners will be announced at a special awards dinner taking place on Wednesday 16 September during the Aquaculture UK exhibition in Aviemore.

Finfish farmer of the year – sponsored by Gael Force

  • Lovemore Ndovie, Kayalami Aquaculture
  • Funke Olatunde – a PhD student and fish farmer, Nigeria
  • Ross Fennel – site assistant with the Scottish Salmon Company, Gigha, Scotland
  • Noelia Rodriguez – hatchery manager for Scottish Sea Farms, Barcaldine, Scotland

Shellfish farmer of the year – sponsored by M&S Select Farms

  • Gordon Turnbull – owner and operator of Isle of Mull Oysters, Scotland
  • George Holmyard – manager of Offshore Shellfish, Devon, England
  • Koo Eng Wah – Sepang Today Aquaculture Centre, Malaysia

Outstanding contribution to the industry – sponsored by Marine Scotland

  • Amy Novogratz – co-founder and head of Aqua-Spark, Netherlands
  • Alan Henshaw – manager of Calverton Fish Farm, England
  • Alastair Barge – owner/operator of Otter Ferry Seafish, Scotland
  • Djames Lim – CEO of the Lim Shrimp Group, Indonesia

Environmental impact – sponsored by Cargill

  • Inovafeed – insect protein producer, France
  • Fjord Maritime – generators for feed barges, Norway
  • Nofir – recycling, Norway
  • EWOS/Cargill Aqua Nutrition – developing compostable feed bags, Scotland

Aquaculture supplier of the year – sponsored by Stingray

  • Benchmark Genetics/StofnFiskur
  • Ace Aquatec
  • NAFC Marine Centre UHI
  • Gael Force Group

Community initiative

  • Loch Duart – Salmon Pool community funding
  • Mowi Scotland – Salmon Wagon
  • The Scottish Salmon Company – Outer Hebrides Local Energy Hub (OHLEH), Lewis

Economic sustainability – sponsored by BioMar

  • Aquaseed Fishtecknik – fish smokers, Nigeria
  • The Scottish Salmon Company – Apprentice to Expert training scheme, Scotland
  • Scottish Sea Farms – Eday Employee Housing, Scotland
  • The Scottish Salmon Company – Outer Hebrides Local Energy Hub (OHLEH), Lewis, Scotland

Animal welfare – sponsored by MSD Animal Health

  • John Avizienius and Malcolm Johnstone – RSPCA Assured
  • FAI Farms – Tilapia Wellbeing project
  • Benchmark Genetics – SalmoBreed Salten
  • Ace Aquatec and Scottish Sea Farms – novel slaughtering systems

Innovation – sponsored by the Scottish Aquaculture Innovation Centre

  • Scottish Shellfish Marketing Group – novel packaging
  • Vita Aqua Feeds (World Feeds Ltd) – cleaner fish feed blocks
  • EWOS/Cargill Aqua Nutrition/Gaia BioMaterials Ltd – compostable feed bags
  • Ace Aquatec & Scottish Sea Farms – novel slaughtering systems

Rising star – sponsored by AILG Skills Group

  • Funke Olatunde – Imoran Farms, Nigeria
  • Rosie Dreghorn – Cargill/EWOS, Scotland
  • Zoe Fletcher – AquaBio Tech Group, Malta
  • Ivana Russo – BioMar, Scotland

Unsung hero

  • Professor Chalres Ngugi – Kenya
  • Dr Martin Jaffa – Callander McDowell, UK
  • Nigel Woodhouse – Hawkshead Trout, UK
  • Nick Bradbury – BioMar, UK

Collaboration – sponsored by the University of Stirling’s Institute of Aquaculture

  • The Global Salmon Initiative (GSI)
  • Mowi Scotland – River Lochy salmon enhancement project
  • Davidsons Animal Feeds / The James Hutton Institute – seaweed in livestock feeds
  • Benchmark Genetics / Nofima – development of whitespot-resistant shrimp


Aquaculture Awards


We use cookies to help give you the best experience on our site and to show relevant advertising. If you wish to continue to use this website, please give us your consent to their use.